Tadulako University, abbreviated UNTAD, is a public university in Palu, Indonesia, Presidential Decree No. sesaui 36 1981 Tadulako established on August 14, 1981. Rector, who now serves in the period 2019-2023 is Prof. Dr. Ir. Mahfudz, MP.


The existence of universities in Central Sulawesi, which is the forerunner of the University of Tadulako marked by three (3) stages of the history of that period Tadulako private status (1963-1966), the period of the status of the branch (1966-1981), and domestic stand-alone status ” Tadulako “(UNTAD), since 1981.

Private Status period (1963-1966)

Tadulako as private universities stems and grow by getting a life of pure self communities in Central Sulawesi, was standing before Central Sulawesi gain status as a first-level regions of Central Sulawesi Province. Tadulako concretely means a leader, and by virtue of its meaning. Thus Tadulako is a leader who has the virtue properties (fair, thoughtful, honest, intelligent, bold, vibrant, protector, defender of truth). On May 8, 1963 stood Tadulako with private status, the first rector DVM. Nasri Gayur. After going through a wide range of efforts to improve the status and role of the University Tadulako, then on 12 September 1964 upgraded to “LISTED” according to the Decree of the Minister of Higher Education and Science No. 94 / B-SWT / P / 64, with four faculties: Faculty of Social and Political, Economic Faculty, Faculty of Animal Science and the Faculty of Education, Department of Life Sciences and Education. Subsequent developments increased again the faculty of the Faculty of Law so that the whole becomes five (5) faculty.

Branch period (1966-1981)

Various efforts and hard work done by community leaders in this area, so the realization Universities with branch status, namely the University of Hasanuddin University Tadulako Branch, by the Minister of Higher Education and Science (PTIP) No. 1 of 1966 dated January 1, 1966 and the Institute of Teacher Training and Education (Teachers’ Training College) Branch Makassar Palu by the Minister of Higher Education and Science (PTIP) No. 2 of 1966 on January 1, 1966. Tadulako University of Hasanuddin University Branch (Branch UNTAD UNHAS) is comprised of four faculties, namely: Faculty of Animal Science, Faculty of Economics, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Social and Political. Teachers’ Training Branch Makassar Palu consists of three faculties namely: Faculty of Education, Faculty of Teaching Literature and Art and Science of Teaching Faculty of exact sciences.

Stand Alone Tadulako State University (since 1981)

To further streamline the efforts to create a stand-alone state university, then in 1978 on the facilitation of the Directorate General of Higher Education and the Provincial Government of Central Sulawesi, formed Koordinatorium College of Central Sulawesi (PTST), chaired by the Governor of Central Sulawesi province with six Vice-Chairs derived from UNTAD Branch UNHAS (3 people) and Teachers’ Training Branch Makassar Palu (3 people). The PTST Koordinatorium efforts to reunite the two universities in Central Sulawesi branch eventually emerge and become more solid foundation for the establishment of a stand-alone public university. For the support and efforts of communities in Central Sulawesi, local government, Rector of Hasanuddin University, Makassar Rector Teachers’ Training College and the Directorate General of Higher Education, finally the status of the second branch of higher education institutions mentioned above increased to “STATE UNIVERSITY OF STANDING OWN”, the name of Tadulako ( UNTAD) in accordance with Presidential Decree No. 36 of 1981 dated August 14, 1981, pursuant to Presidential Decree is UNTAD consists of five (5) faculties namely the Faculty of Education, Faculty of Social and Political Sciences, Faculty of Economics, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Agriculture ,

In a further development of the faculty is growing again, Faculty of Engineering in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 0378/0/1993 dated October 21, 1993.

The Rector of Untad Timeline

The following are chronological lists of the Rector of Untad since first established in 1981 until now:

  1. Dr. H. A. Mattulada (first period 1981 to 1985 and second period 1985 to 1990)
  2. Dr. H. Musji Amal Pagiling, M.A. (in the period 1990 to 1994)
  3. Drs. H. Aminuddin Ponulele (in the period 1994-1998)
  4. Moh. Abd. Rasyid, M.S. (in the period 1998-2002)
  5. H. Sahabuddin Mustapa, M.Si. (first period 2002 to 2006 and second period 2006 to 2011)
  6. Dr. Ir. Muhammad Basir, S.E.,M.S. (first period 2011 to 2015 and second period 2015 to 2019)
  7. Dr. Ir. Mahfudz, M.P. (in the period 2019 to 2023)

Leave a Reply